Skip to main content

Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health Eta Sigma Gamma chapter receives national award

The Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health chapter of Eta Sigma Gamma (ESG) chapter has been presented with a 2020 Chapter Achievement Award.

Eta Sigma Gamma is a national honorary society for the profession of health education, and the mission is to elevate the highest standards, ideals, competence and ethics of professionally trained practitioners in the health education discipline through teaching and education, service and research.

“The Gamma Upsilon chapter of ESG is very honored to receive this award,” said associate professor Joanne Chopak-Foss, Ph.D. “This is the first national recognition that we have received in 23 years of being a chapter. Thank you to our former officers who have graduated.” 

Chopak-Foss and assistant professor Tilicia Mayo-Gamble, Ph.D., serve as co-sponsors of the ESG chapter on the Statesboro Campus. Current student members are Caycie Allison, Taraya Bratton, Markiyah Davis, Lajuana Osborne, Ashley Reyes and Paige Simmons. Associate professor Nandi Marshall, DrPH, will serve as the chapter sponsor for the new Epsilon Omega chapter on the Armstrong Campus.  

The award will be presented in March at the Eta Sigma Gamma Annual Business Meeting and Awards Ceremony in Atlanta, Georgia. 


Posted in News Briefs