Skip to main content

BFSDoArt presents annual juried student exhibitions

Juried 2019, Form & Content 2019

STATESBORO, Ga.—The Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art (BFSDoArt) at Georgia Southern University will present its two annual juried student exhibitions April 5-12  at the Center for Art & Theatre on the Statesboro Campus. The receptions and awards ceremonies will begin Friday, April 5 at 5 p.m.

Form & Content features student work from Art Foundations classes that include Drawing I, Drawing II, 2D Art and Design Foundations, 3D Art and Design Foundations, and Digital Foundations.The exhibition was juried by Ben Tollefson is a nationally-exhibited artist and an assistant curator at the SCAD Museum of Art. Tollefson has been working with both 2D and 3D art, his practice is highly realistically rendered, chromatically complex and tightly composed, yet evocative and surreal in appearance.

Juried 2019 features the variety of media taught within the Betty Foy Sanders Department of Art, which includes drawing, painting, jewelry, multimedia, mixed media, photography, printmaking, sculpture and ceramics. The exhibition was juried by Susan Laney, is the owner and director of the Laney Contemporary Gallery in Savannah, Georgia. Laney has been active in the art scene for well over a decade and has worked with some of the region’s most important contemporary artists, as well as with galleries and artists nationwide. In addition to her gallery, she frequently curates exhibitions for a number of museums and art fairs.

“The Juried Undergraduate and Form & Content exhibitions are among my favorite each year,” said BFSDoArt Gallery Director Jason Hoelscher. “To have the dynamic range of art and design projects all together in the tight confines of two galleries is a real treat, showing just how many directions creativity can flow.”

Students work accepted in the Form & Content exhibition are Jacoby Aultman, Jalen Austin, Patrick Brownlee,Peyton Butts, Vaschita Camacho, Carlos Carvajal, Justin Chinnery, MacKenzie Cintron, Katsi Cruz Delgado, Cathy Estes, Brittany Evans, Anna Forbes, Anna Grace Raley, Sabrina Hill, Makenzy Lane, Giselle Martinez, Dubby Mbuouka, Taylor McMahon, Matthew McRae, Pardiss Moazzam, Katherine Naude, Laiken Owens, Anna Peters, Abigail Rodriguez-Colón, Elias Smalls, Cheyenne Smith, Megan Tanner, Julianna Tilman, Genevieve Townsend, Nina Trammell, Makinzie Wall, Elizabeth Wilson, Haley Wilson, Devon Witkowski, and Whitney Youngblood Josey.

The students accepted into the Juried 2019 exhibition are Marjorie Adams Alise,Aj Aremu, Meridith Bearden Lauren, Ashton Beeghley, Peyton Butts, Emily Coats, Andrew Cobb, Sierra Cornell, Jasmine Davis, Hannah Eldridge, Allison Exley, Nicholas Farmer, Rachel Forehand, Taylor Goody, AnnaBrooke H. Greene, Shelby Head, John R. Lewis, Tanner Maxey, Aminatta Mbow, Tyre McDonald, Tommy McMillan, Alex McReynolds, Abigail Newman, Megan Nussbaum, Katrine Ramhoy, Virginia Russell, Nina Samuels, Alyssa Santana, Andrew Shirah, Macey Skelton, Kevin Spillane, Megan Tanner, Raven Waters, and Gherri Weekes-Garnette.


Posted in Gallery Programming