Skip to main content

Cyber Academic Programs

Georgia Southern University has five cyber-related academic programs giving our students the best selection of Cyber related degree programs in the University Systems of Georgia. Please review the information and links below for more information on our programs. The Center for Applied Cyber Education does not control any cyber-related academic programs, but we are here as advisors and to help answer questions about which programs fit bets for your future in alignment with the National Cyber Workforce Framework.

1) Information Technology

Bachelor of Science in Information Technology, Cybersecurity Specialization– designed for students seeking a four-year Bachelor’s of Science degree, this curriculum includes the university’s core curriculum, as well as advanced courses in information technology and cybersecurity. (This degree meets all of the requirements (knowledge units) for the NSA center of excellence program). BSIT Program and Course Requirements 

Interdisciplinary Minor in Cyber Security – designed for students who are already enrolled in a baccalaureate degree program.  In addition to basic information technology (IT) courses, it requires three courses in cybersecurity and one course in cyber forensics. The Cyber Security Minor is only available at the Armstrong Campus in Savannah.

Undergraduate Certificate in Cybersecurity – awarded to students who are earning the Bachelor of Science in Information Technology and complete the courses listed including the courses in the specialization. Students must apply for this certificate and it is annotated on their transcript on completion of their BSIT degree.

Courses Needed for the Cyber Security Undergraduate Certificate:

  • IT 1130    Introduction to Information Technology
  • IT 2333    IT Infrastructure
  • IT 2531    Introduction to Cyber Security
  • IT 3530   Fundamentals of Information Systems Security
  • IT 4336   Network Security
  • IT 4337   Ethical Hacking

2) Criminal Justice – Cyber Crime

Minor in Cyber Crime – designed for students who are already enrolled in any baccalaureate degree program who are interested in obtaining a concentration in cyber forensics/cyber crime.

Online Graduate Certificate in Cyber Crime – This post-baccalaureate certificate builds on students’ baccalaureate degrees and may also serve as a stepping stone toward the Master of Science in Criminal Justice degree.

3) Health Professions

Bachelor of Health Science, Health Informatics Concentration – prepares students for entry-level careers in the rapidly growing field of health informatics and health information systems selection, implementation and management, and cyber security of systems and information in the healthcare industry.

4) Business Administration – Cyber Programs

4) BBA in Information Systems – The Enterprise Security (ES) emphasis focuses on the development and administration of security policies as they pertain to the management of information systems.

5) BBA in Accounting – A Fraud Examination Certificate is available and consists of 12 additional semester hours of undergraduate education designed to prepare future fraud investigators.  The curriculum covers fraud examination, fraud schemes, white collar crime, and forensic interviews and interrogation.  

5) Department of Defense Cyber Credentialing

Department of Defense Forensics Analyst Credentialing –  CACE is a Center of Digital Forensics Academic Excellence through the Defense Cyber Crime Center. This provides us with an articulation agreement with the Defense Cyber Investigative Training Academy (DCITA). Taking coursework from criminal justice and IT qualifies those that complete just three courses to hold credentials as a DoD Digital Media Collector and/or a DoD Digital Forensic Examiner. If you work in a DoD agency as a service member, civilian, or contractor after completing this program you can apply to DCITA to be granted DoD certification as either a DoD Digital Media Collector and a DoD Digital Forensics Examiner.

Courses Needed for Forensic Analyst Credentialing

  • IT 1231  Intro to Computer Concepts and Applications
  • CRJU 5010 Applied Digital Forensics I
  • CRJU 5020 Applied Digital Forensics II

 Taking IT1231 and CRJU5010 will complete requirements for qualification as a DoD Digital Media Collector.

 Taking all three courses listed above will complete requirements for qualification as a DoD Digital Media Collector and a  DoD Digital Forensics Examiner.

Last updated: 4/18/2022