Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Recognized artists and scholars, the faculty of the BFSDoArt comprise a community of dedicated teachers known for their attention to students’ development and success.

Faculties’ accolades and accomplishments are as varied as their backgrounds and provide empowering examples of the balance of knowledge and practice in the professional art world.

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICES

STATESBORO CAMPUS

Center for Art & Theatre
Physical Address: 233 Pittman Drive
Mailing Address: PO BOX 8032
Statesboro, Georgia 30460
Phone: 912-478-5358
Fax: 912-478-5104
art@georgiasouthern.edu

ARMSTRONG CAMPUS

Fine Arts Hall, Room 125
Physical Address: 101 Science Drive
Mailing Address: 11935 Abercorn Street
Savannah, Georgia 31419
Phone: 912-344-2556
Fax: 912-344-3419

STAFF DIRECTORY

Name Title Contact Information
Elsie Howington Interim Department Chair, Graduate Director elsiehill@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-5358
Center for Art & Theatre, 2005
Statesboro
Dr. Jason Hoelscher Gallery Director
& Associate Professor of Art
jhoelscher@georgiasouthern.edu
armstronggallery@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-2788
Center for Art & Theatre, 2015
Statesboro
Casey Altman Creative Design Director cstoddard@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-6667
Center for Art & Theatre, 2011
Statesboro
Lauren M. Holmen Arts Marketing Manager armstrongfinearts@georgiasouthern.edu
lholmen@georgiasouthern.edu
912-334-3169
Fine Arts Hall, 135
Savannah
Jason McCoy Studio Technician jmccoy@georgiasouthern.edu
912-486-4520
Ceramics & Sculpture, 1125
Statesboro
Ayesha Samuel Administrative Assistant asamuel@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-5358
Center for Art & Theatre, 2004A
Statesboro
Amanda Williams  Administrative Assistant amandawilliams@georgiasouthern.edu
912-334-2556
Fine Arts Hall, 125
Savannah
Academic Advisors
Sharon Hathaway Academic Advisor, Armstrong shathaway@georgiasouthern.edu
912-344-2570
Student Success Center, 125
Savannah
Natasha LaBalle Academic Advisor, Statesboro
(Last Names M-Z)
nlaballe@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-7740
Interdisciplinary Academic Building
Statesboro
Jakeyvia White Academic Advisor, Armstrong jjwhite@georgiasouthern.edu
912-344-2570
Student Success Center, 125
Savannah
Inger Wood Academic Advisor, Statesboro
(Last Names A-L)
iwood@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-7740
Interdisciplinary Academic Building
Statesboro

STATESBORO FACULTY

Name Title Contact Information
Robert Farber Professor of Art
Drawing
farber@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-5358
Arts Building, 2004rfarber.com
Ryan Hewlett Assistant Professor of Graphic Design rhewlett@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-5358
Arts Building
Jessica Hines Professor of
Photography & Digital Imaging
jhines@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-5930
Arts Building, 2024
Dr. Jason Hoelscher Gallery Director
& Associate Professor of Art
jhoelscher@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-2788
Center for Art & Theatre, 2015rfarber.com
Melissa Huang Assistant Professor of Art
Foundations
mhuang@georgiasouthern.edu
Arts Building, 2021
Christina Lemon Professor of Art
Jewelry & Small Metals
clemon@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-5299
Arts Building, 2023
Matt Mogle Foundations Director &
Assistant Professor of Art
mmogle@georgiasouthern.edu
Arts Building, 2020
Hans Mortensen Associate Professor
Graphic Communications 
hans_p_mortensen@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-5358
Arts Building, 2032
Marc Moulton Professor of Sculpture marcmoulton@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-7665
Ceramics & Sculpture Building, 1123
Jason Murdock Assistant Professor
Graphic Design
jmurdock@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-5167
Arts Building, 2003 rfarber.com
Kayla Lehman Assistant Professor of Art Animation klehman@georgiasouthern.edu
Arts Building, 2026
Kim Riner Art Appreciation kbriner@georgiasouthern.edu
Arts Building, 2022
Edward Rushton Associate Professor
Graphic Design
erushton@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-0597
Arts Building, 2028http://edrushton.org/
Jeff Schmuki Professor of Art
Ceramics
jschmuki@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-7461
Ceramics & Sculpture Building, 1005 rfarber.com
Casey Schachner Assistant Professor of Art
Foundations
cschachner@georgiasouthern.edu
Arts Building, 2020
Tiffanie Townsend Associate Professor
Art History
tptownsend@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-5745
Arts Building, 2025

ARMSTRONG FACULTY

Name Title Contact Information
Kasie Alt Assistant Professor
Art History
kalt@georgiasouthern.edu
912-344-3154
Fine Arts Hall, 208
Cynthia Costa Principal Lecturer
Art History & Art Appreciation 
ccosta@georgiasouthern.edu
912-344-2699
Solms Hall, 214Awebsite
Rachel Green Professor of Art
Fiber Arts, Printmaking, Foundations
rgreen@georgiasouthern.edu
912-344-2999
Fine Arts Hall, 205
Hans Mortensen Associate Professor
Graphic Design/Graphic Communications
hans_p_mortensen@georgiasouthern.edu
Annex 2, 104
Mia Merlin Senior Lecturer
Art in Life, Foundations
mmerlin@georgiasouthern.edu
912-334-2831
Fine Arts Hall, 207
Matt Mogle Foundations Director &
Assistant Professor of Art
mmogle@georgiasouthern.edu
Abby Newland Art Education anewland@georgiasouthern.edu
912-478-2793
Casey Schachner Assistant Professor of Art
Foundations
cschachner@georgiasouthern.edu
Annex 2

Last updated: 11/28/2023