Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff Awards

Selection of Recipients for the COSM Award of Excellence

Each year, the College of Science and Mathematics Award Committee will recognize and reward outstanding contributions of COSM Faculty Members in areas of Teaching, Research and Service. One Award of Excellence will be made annually, in each of the three areas. Detailed information on nomination criteria and nominee responsibilities for the Award Committee can be obtained through the following links:

Past Award of Excellence Recipients

Award of Excellence in Teaching

Erica HillsnipeSenior LecturerChemistry & Biochemistry2023
A. Loren Mathews, Ph.D.Senior LecturerBiology 2022
James Reichard, Ph.D.ProfessorGeology & Geography2021
Tanesha Osborne, Ph.D.Senior LecturerChemistry & Biochemistry2020
Scott Kersey, Ph.D.ProfessorMathematical Sciences2019
Suzanne Carpenter, MSAssociate ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2019
Colton Magnant, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorMathematical Sciences2018
Shainaz Landge, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2017
Checo Colón-Gaud, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorBiology2016
Hua Wang, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorMathematical Sciences2015
Marshall RansomSr. LecturerMathematical Sciences2014
Michele Cawthorn, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorBiology2013
Joy Darley, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorMathematical Sciences2012
Laura Frost, Ph.D.ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2011
Delena Gatch, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorPhysics2010
Jessica OrvisAssociate ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2009
Laura Regassa, Ph.D.ProfessorBiology2008
Jeff Orvis, Ph.D.ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2007
Sharon Taylor, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorMathematical Sciences2007
Patricia HumphreyAssociate ProfessorMathematical Sciences2006
David Stone, Ph.D.ProfessorMathematical Sciences2005
Charles Trupe, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorGeology & Geography2005
Pranoti M. Asher, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorGeology & Geography2005

Award of Excellence in Research

Shainaz Landge, Ph.D. Associate ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2023
Stephen Greiman, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorBiology 2022
Aaron Schrey, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorBiology2021
Rafael Quirino, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2020
Christian Cox, Ph.D.Assistant ProfessorBiology2019
Mark Edwards, Ph.D.ProfessorPhysics2018
Ryan Fortenberry, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2017
Ji Wu, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2016
Marshall Ming, Ph.D.ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2015
Hua Wang, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorMathematical Sciences2014
Risa Cohen, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorBiology2013
Jing-Yuan Zhang, Ph.D.ProfessorPhysics2012
Lance McBrayer, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorBiology2011
Daniel Gleason, Ph.D.ProfessorBiology2010
Christopher Cutler, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorBiology2009
Jonathan Geisler, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorGeology & Geography2008
Bruce Schulte, Ph.D.ProfessorBiology2007
Quentin Fang, Ph.D.ProfessorBiology2006
Lance Durden, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorBiology2005
Clayton Heller, Ph.D.ProfessorPhysics2004

Award of Excellence in Service

Anastasia Rusina, Ph.D. Senior LecturerPhysics2023
Amy Potter, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorGeology & Geography2022
Shainaz Landge, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorChemistry and Biochemistry2021
Jiehua Zhu, Ph.D.ProfessorMathematical Sciences2020
Jennifer Zettler, Ph.D.ProfessorBiology2019
Michelle Cawthorne, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorBiology2019
Ria Ramoutar, Ph.D.LecturerChemistry & Biochemistry2017-18
Alan Harvey, Ph.D.ProfessorBiology2016-17
Christine Whitlock, Ph.D.ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2015-16
Michele McGibony, Ph.D.ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2014-15
Robert Yarbrough, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorGeology & Geography2013-14
Sarah Higdon, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorPhysics2012-13
William Irby, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorBiology2011-12
Patricia Humphrey, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorMathematical Sciences2010-11
Susie Lanier, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorMathematical Sciences2009-10
Laura Regassa, Ph.D.ProfessorBiology2008-09
Lissa Leege, Ph.D.ProfessorBiology2007-08
Jim LoBue, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2006-07
Todd Deal, Ph.D.ProfessorChemistry & Biochemistry2005-06
Donna Saye, Ph.D.Associate ProfessorMathematical Sciences2004-05
Mark Edwards, Ph.D.ProfessorPhysics2003-04

Award of Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

 Sabrina Hessinger, Ph.D. Professor Mathematical Sciences2022

Award of Excellence in Collaboration

COSM Learning Lab Commons2023
CollaborativE Multidisciplinary Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (CEMSURE)2022

Award for Staff Excellence

Ashley KingsAdministrative CoordinatorCOSM Dean’s Office2023
 Bil LeidersdorfLab Technician Biology2022
Dillon MarcyLaboratory CoordinatorPhysics & Astronomy2021
Laura GriffithsLaboratory CoordinatorBiology2021
Nikki CollinsSenior Administrative SecretaryMathematical Sciences2020
Linda SmithSenior Administrative AssistantGeology and Geography2019
Melissa Gast-GoodmanAssistant to the DeanCOSM Dean’s Office2018
Janee CardellAdministrative CoordinatorBiology2017
Thomas AndersonLaboratory SupervisorChemistry & Biochemistry2016
Nathan Takas, Ph.D.Laboratory SupervisorChemistry & Biochemistry2015
Robert DealManager of Electronics and Research TechnologyCOSM Dean’s Office2014
Maria SibbaldAdmin. SecretaryCOSM Advisement Center2013
Nikki CollinsSr. Admin. SecretaryMathematical Sciences2012
Marion WelchChemical Instrumentation ManagerChemistry & Biochemistry2011
Carol FoxAdmin. SecretaryMechanical and Electrical Engineering2010
Robert DealManager of Electronics and Research TechnologyCOSM Dean’s Office2009

Last updated: 12/21/2023