Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

Dobson_JohnJohn Dobson*
Department Chair and Professor of Kinesiology
Ph.D., Auburn University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2115A and Armstrong Campus-University Hall 154A
Phone: 912-478-0200
Email: jdobson@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Bruce Barragan
Lecturer
MHA, Duke University
Office: Armstrong Campus-University Hall 154D
Phone: 912-344-3254
Email: jbarragan@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Sturges_DianaDiana Botnaru*
Professor of Kinesiology
M.D., University of Washington
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1104D
Phone: 912-478-5456
Email: dbotnaru@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Megan Byrd*
Associate Professor of Kinesiology, Sport and Exercise Psychology
Ph.D., West Virginia University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1103B
Phone: 912-478-2274
Email: mmbyrd@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
David Carr
Visiting Instructor of Coaching Education
Ed.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1100A
Phone: 912-478-0091
Email: dcarr@georgiasouthern.edu
Rob ClouseRob Clouse
Senior Lecturer and CORE Physical Activity Lifestyle Program Coordinator
M.S., Georgia Southern University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hanner Building 2320A
Phone: 912-478-2251
Email: rclouse@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Coleman_JustineJustine Coleman
Senior Lecturer of Healthful Living and Exercise Science and Undergraduate Exercise Science Program Coordinator
M.S., Georgia Southern University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1101C
Phone: 912-478-0775
Email: jbcoleman@georgiasouthern.edu
CollinsRebecca Riggs Collins
Senior Lecturer of Healthful Living and Exercise Science and Undergraduate Exercise Science Program Coordinator
M.S., Georgia Southern University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2121C
Phone: 912-478-2543
Email: rriggs@georgiasouthern.edu
Joseph "Joey" Crosby, Jr.*
Professor of Health Sciences
Ph.D., University of Georgia
Office: Armstrong Campus-University Hall 154B
Phone: 912-344-2657
Email: jfcrosby@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Davis_SarahSarah E. Davis
Lecturer of Health & Kinesiology
M.S., Armstrong Atlantic State University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hanner Building 2320C
Phone: 912-478-7402
Email: sdavis@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Andrew Flatt*
Associate Professor and M.S. Sports Medicine Program Coordinator
Ph.D., University of Alabama
Office: Armstrong Campus-University Hall 154M
Phone: 912-344-3150
Email: aflatt@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Christina Gipson*
Associate Professor of Sport Management and Graduate Sport Management Program Coordinator
Ph.D., Brunel University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1124B
Phone: 912-478-1101
Email: cgipson@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Stephen Griffin
Visiting Instructor of Health and Physical Education
MS, Troy University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2120
Phone: 912-478-0569
Email: sgriffin@georgiasouthern.edu
Hanna_Chris (Fall 2016)Chris Hanna*
Associate Professor of Sport Management
Ph.D., University of Louisville
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2118A
Phone: 912-478-8013
Email: channa@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Brandonn HarrisBrandonn Harris*
Professor of Kinesiology and Sport and Exercise Psychology Program Coordinator
Ph.D., West Virginia University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1103C
Phone: 912-478-7900
Email: bharris@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Hunt_TamerahTamerah Hunt*
Associate Professor of Athletic Training and Graduate Athletic Training Program Coordinator
Ph.D., University of Georgia
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1126A and Armstrong Campus-Armstrong Center 237
Phone: 912-478-8620
Email: thunt@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Shobana Jayaraman
Visiting Instructor of Health Sciences
DrPH, Georgia Southern University
Office: Armstrong Campus-University Hall 145N
Phone: 912-344-2512
Email: sjayaraman@georgiasouthern.edu
joyner_barryBarry Joyner*
Professor of Exercise Science
Ph.D., University of Georgia
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1104B
Phone: 912-478-7014
Email: joyner@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
joyner_barryJason Karp
Visiting Instructor of Exercise Science
Ph.D., Indiana University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2117A
Phone: 912-478-2117
Email: jkarp@georgiasouthern.edu
Keagan Kiely
Clinical Instructor and Director of the Center for Rehabilitation and Independent Living
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1103D
Phone: 912-478-8437
Email: kkiely@georgiasouthern.edu
Julie Kuykendall
Lecturer of Healthful Living
M.S., Georgia Southern University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1103A
Phone: 912-478-2250
Email: jkuykendall@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Jody Langdon*
Professor of Kinesiology
Ph.D., University of South Carolina
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1101B
Phone: 912-478-5378
Email: jlangdon@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Li Li*
Professor of Kinesiology
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts at Amherst
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 0107C
Phone: 912-478-8015
Email: lili@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
John Lisec
Visiting Instructor of Sport Management
MS, Miami University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis 1124A
Phone: 912-478-5996
Email: jlisec@georgiasouthern.edu
Jane Lynes
Assistant Professor
Secondary, Adult and Physical Education
Ed.D., Georgia Southern University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis 0107B
Phone: 912-478-0508
Email: cjlynes@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Starla McCollumStarla McCollum*
Professor of Health and Kinesiology and B.S.Ed. in Health & Physical Education Program Director
Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2131C
Phone: 912-478-5925
Email: mccollum@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Bridget Melton*
Professor of Exercise Science
Ed.D., Georgia Southern University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1127A
Phone: 912-478-1973
Email: bmelton@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Barry MunkasyBarry Munkasy*
Associate Professor of Kinesiology
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 0107D
Phone: 912-478-0985
Email: bmunkasy@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Mutchler_JessicaJessica Mutchler*
Associate Professor of Athletic Training
Ph.D., Old Dominion University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1119C and Armstrong Campus-Armstrong Center 232
Phone: 912-478-7400
Email: jmutchler@georgiasouthern.edu
Anthony Parish*
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Arkansas
Office: Armstrong Campus-University Hall 154Q
Phone: 912-344-2551
Email: aparish@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Steve PattersonSteve Patterson
Non-Tenure Associate Professor of Athletic Training and Athletic Training Program Director
Ed.D., Nova Southeastern University
Office: Armstrong Campus-Armstrong Center 233
Phone: 912-478-8014
Email: spatterson@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Penix_KellieKellie Penix
Senior Lecturer of Health and Physical Education
Ed.D., Georgia Southern University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis 2131B
Phone: 912-478-1253
Email: kopenix@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Tony PritchardTony Pritchard*
Graduate Program Director, Professor of Pedagogy, MSK Physical Education Program Coordinator, and MAT Health and Physical Education P-12 Program Director
Ed.D., West Virginia University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2118B
Phone: 912-478-1323
Email: tpritchard@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Gregg Rich
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Georgia
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1119B
Phone: 912-478-2583
Email: grich@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
L.E. "Leigh" Rich*
Professor
Ph.D., University of Colorado
Office: Armstrong Campus-University Hall 154F
Phone: 912-344-2655
Email: lrich@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Bryan Riemann*
Professor
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh
Office: Armstrong Campus-University Hall 154L
Phone: 912-344-2934
Email: briemann@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Amy Jo RiggsAmy Jo Riggs-Deckard*
Professor of Nutrition and Food Science
Ph.D., Auburn University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2121A
Phone: 912-478-7753
Email: ajriggs@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Joelle Romanchik-Cerpovicz*
Associate Professor of Nutrition and Food Science, Undergraduate Program Director and Nutrition and Food Science Program Director
Ph.D., Medical College of Pennsylvania
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1128B
Phone: 912-478-1420
Email: jromchik@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Steve Rossi*
Associate Dean and Professor of Kinesiology
Ph.D., Oklahoma State University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2123B
Phone: 912-478-8557
Email: srossi@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Padmini ShankarPadmini Shankar*
Professor of Nutrition and Food Science
Ph.D., Texas Tech University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Interdisciplinary Academic Building Room 2073
Phone: 912-478-5785
Email: pshankar@georgiasouthern.edu
Nicholas Siekirk
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Wayne State University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis building 1101A
Phone: 912-478-7401
Email: nsiekirk@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Karen Spears
Clinical Instructor and Dietetic Internship Program Director
Ph.D., University of Washington
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hanner Building 2301A
Phone: 912-478-2123
Email: kspears@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Syno_MatthewMatthew Syno
Lecturer
M.S. Ed., Old Dominion University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 0107A
Phone: 912-478-5536
Email: msyno@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
McKinley Thomas*
Undergraduate Program Director, Professor and Health Sciences Program Coordinator
Governor's Teaching Fellow
Ed.D., University of Tennessee
Office: Armstrong Campus-University Hall 154K
Phone: 912-344-2656
Email: mckinleythomas@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Paula Tillman*
Associate Professor of Health Sciences / Health Informatics and Health Informatics Program Coordinator
DNP, Georgia Southern University
Office: Armstrong Campus-University Hall 154G
Phone: 912-344-3604
Email: ptillman@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Paul Tschida
Lecturer, Physical Activity Lifestyle Program
MS, Florida State University
Office: Armstrong Campus-University Hall 154R
Phone: 912-344-2731
Email: ptschida@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Williamson_MatthewMatthew A. Williamson*
Associate Professor of Kinesiology
Ph.D., Purdue University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Herty Building 0103
Phone: 912-478-1820
Email: mwilliam@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Wilson_HalCharles "Hal" Wilson, Jr.*
Associate Professor of Kinesiology and Graduate Coaching Program Coordinator
Ph.D., University of Tennessee
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 1100B
Phone: 912-478-5882
Email: charleswilson@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Samuel Wilson*
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Mississippi
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2117B
Phone: 912-478-0889
Email: sjwilson@georgiasouthern.edu
Mary Beth Yarbrough
Senior Lecturer
M.S., Georgia Southern University
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2121B
Phone: 912-478-5915
Email: myarbrough@georgiasouthern.edu
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)

Staff

Nicole Alvarado
Administrative Assistant II
Office: Armstrong Campus-University Hall 154
Phone: 912-344-3182
Email: nalvarado@georgiasouthern.edu
Bishop_Patricia (Fall 2016)Patricia Bishop
Administrative Assistant I
Dietetic Internship Program
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hanner Building 2301
Phone: 912-478-1121
Email: pbishop@georgiasouthern.edu
Wilson_LauraLaura Wilson
Administrative Assistant I
Office: Statesboro Campus-Hollis Building 2115B
Phone: 912-478-5788
Email: laurawilson@georgiasouthern.edu

*denotes tenured faculty

Last updated: 2/29/2024