Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Dr. Beth Howells

Department Chair

Ph.D., University of North Carolina, Greensboro

Writing, Rhetoric, Gender and Women’s Studies, Composition Studies, 19th-Century British Literature

bhowells@georgiasouthern.edu


Statesboro Office
3307B Newton Building
912-478-5133

Armstrong Office
Gamble Hall 101
912-344-2867


Ready to meet the people invested in your success?

We have talented faculty and staff on all three of Georgia Southern’s campuses. Our faculty are listed below by the location of their offices, though they may teach on multiple campuses.

Main Office: 912-478-5133
Location: 3307 Newton Building

Academic Advisors

Megan Bowen
1038 Interdisciplinary Academic Building
912-478-7740
mbowen@georgiasouthern.edu

Administrative Assistants

Patricia Byrd
Senior Administrative Assistant
Newton 1118A
912-478-0739
pbyrd@georgiasouthern.edu

Johannah Fortner
Staff Assistant
Gamble 103
912-344-2574
efortner@georgiasouthern.edu

Debbie Lawrence
Staff Assistant
Newton 1118
912-478-0141
dglawrence@georgiasouthern.edu

Faculty

Dr. Dustin Anderson
Associate Professor
3302B Newton Building
912-478-1354
danderson@georgiasouthern.edu

Transnational Modernism; British & Irish Literature; Drama; Literary Criticism and Theory

Fiona Brantley Visiting Instructor 912-478-1377 Newton 2221B

Fiona Brantley
Visiting Instructor
2221B Newton Building
912-478-1377
fbrantley@georgiasouthern.edu

Dr. Lindsey Chappell
Director of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor
3304B Newton Building
912-478-6095
lchappell@georgiasouthern.edu

Cameron Rocker Clements
Lecturer
2225A Newton Building
912-478-0373
cclements@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2013

First-Year Writing, English Literature, Irish Studies, Adolescent Literature

Dr. Lisa A. Costello
Professor
2221D Newton | 2288C-D Carroll
912-478-5561 | 912-478-7879
lacostello@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Louisiana State University & A&M College, 2007

Rhetoric & Composition, Holocaust Memorialization, Gender Studies, Autobiography, Culture & Memory Studies

Janet Dale
Non-Tenure-Track Faculty
3305E Newton Building
912-478-5936
jdale@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Georgia College & State University, 2013

First-Year Writing, Composition Studies, Creative Writing, Flash Fiction, Lyrical & Narrative Nonfiction, Found Poetry, Feature/News Writing, Gender & Women’s Studies, Gothic American Lit, Pop Culture

Julie Douberly
Senior Lecturer
1119C Newton Building
912-478-0962
juliedouberly@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2003

First-Year Writing, Instructional Technology, Fandom Studies

Benjamin Drevlow
Senior Lecturer
3304A Newton Building
912-478-5902
bdrevlow@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Minnesota State University, 2006

Short Stories & The Novel, First-Year Writing, Digital Literacy, Memoir & Autobiographical Fiction, Southern Gothic Literature, Grit Lit, Satire & Humor

Dr. Olivia Carr Edenfield
Professor
2220B Newton Building
912-478-0155
carr@georgiasouthern.edu

American Literature

Dr. Bradley Edwards
Principal Lecturer
3306A Newton Building
912-478-5350
bradedwards@georgiasouthern.edu

 The American Novel; The American Journey Novel; Multicultural American Literature; Bharati Mukherjee; Ernest Hemingway; Cormac McCarthy; Herman Melville

Dr. Christopher Garland
Associate Professor
Newton 2224B
912-478-5248
cgarland@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Florida, 2014

Interdisciplinary Writing, Visual Rhetoric, Caribbean Studies, Nonfiction, Postcolonial Literature

Dr. Timothy Giles
Professor
Newton 1122G
912-478-0229
tgiles@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2004

Technical Communication, Metaphor Studies, Classical Rhetoric, Postmodern Rhetoric, Rhetoric of Science & Technology, Technical Communication Pedagogy

Dr. Julia Griffin
Professor
Newton 2219B
912-478-1412
jgriffin@georgiasouthern.edu

Renaissance Literature

Natalie James Ingalsbe
Senior Lecturer
Newton 1122B
912-478-4202
nataliejames@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., University of Delaware, 2013

First-Year Writing, Rhetoric & Composition, Identity Studies, Pedagogical Methods with Digital Media, Postcolonial Literature & Theory

Benjamin Jackson
Visiting Instructor
Newton 2218D
912-478-0226

bjackson@georgiasouthern.edu

June Joyner
Principal Lecturer
Newton 1122F
912-478-0153
jbjoy@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2002

First-Year Writing, Critical Thinking, Teaching Writing, National Writing Project, Popular Culture, Professional Development in Higher Ed

Fiona Brantley Visiting Instructor 912-478-1377 Newton 2221B

Dr. Drew Keane
Visiting Instructor
Newton 2218A
912-478-0153

dkeane@georgiasouthern.edu

Dr. Howard Keeley
Director of The Center for Irish Research and Teaching
Associate Professor
Newton 3305A
912-478-0221
hkeeley@georgiasouthern.edu

Modern Irish Literature

Sarah Knowles
Visiting Instructor
Newton 1122E
912-478-0881
sknowles@georgiasouthern.edu

Dr. Jinrong Li
Associate Professor
Newton 2218C
912-478-5263
jli@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D. Iowa State University
M.A. Beijing Foreign Studies University
B.A. China Foreign Affairs University

Alexus Litchfield
Visiting Instructor
Newton 2218E
912-478-0234

alitchfield@georgiasouthern.edu

Brandon Loper
Lecturer
Newton 1119D
912-478-0149
bloper@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., University of Tennessee, 2003

First-Year Writing, Cultural Studies, Post-War American Literature, Critical Theory

Michael Malmberg
Visiting Instructor
Newton 2219D
912-478-8570

mmalmberg@georgiasouthern.edu

Brandi Moody
Lecturer
Newton 2222B
912-478-5730
bmoody@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2015

First-Year Writing, Writing Center Pedagogy & Practice, Shakespeare & the Renaissance

Jeffrey Marsh
Visiting Instructor
Newton 2222E
912-478-0986

jmarsh@georgiasouthern.edu

Claire Nelson
Non-Tenure-Track Faculty
Newton 1119B
912-478-0421
cnelson@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A. Florida State University, 2014

First-Year Writing

Sheila Nielsen
Senior Lecturer
Newton 1120D
912-478-0234
snielsen@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2015

First-Year Writing, 20th Century American Literature, Writing Project, Interdisciplinary Studies, Writing Across the Curriculum

Christina Olson
Associate Professor
Newton 2221C
912-478-0124
colson@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Minnesota State University, 2007

Creative Writing (Poetry & Creative Nonfiction)

Dr. Aron Pease
Senior Lecturer
Newton 2222B
912-478-5707
apease@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Florida, 2010

First-Year Writing

Dr. Joe Pellegrino
Associate Professor
3308B Newton Building
912-478-5853
jpellegrino@GeorgiaSouthern.edu

Irish Literature; Postcolonial Literature; World Literature; Critical Theory

Dr. Michael Pemberton
Professor
Newton 1120C
912-478-1383
micahelp@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of California, San Diego, 1989

Writing Centers, Writing Across the Curriculum, Computers & Writing, Writing Program Administration, Writing Theory, Comics Studies

Fiona Brantley Visiting Instructor 912-478-1377 Newton 2221B

Stephanie Pierce
Visiting Instructor
Newton 2225D
912-478-0151

stephaniepierce@georgiasouthern.edu

Dr. Joanna Schreiber
Associate Professor
Newton 2222C
912-478-5908
jschreiber@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Michigan Technological University, 2013

Technical & Professional Communication, Usability & User Experience (UX), Business & Management Communication, Workplace Studies, Professional and Technical Editing, Project Management

Amanda Schumacher
Senior Lecturer
Newton 2221A
912-478-5750
aaschumacher@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Minnesota State University, 2011

Creative Writing (Fiction), Young Adult Literature, First-Year Writing

Dr. Krista Slone
Senior Lecturer
Newton 1120E
912-478-6993
kpetrosino@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Bowling Green State University, 2012

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning, Writing Studies, First Year Writing, Outcomes Assessment, Writing Assessment 

Christopher Smith
Senior Lecturer
Newton 3305D
912-478-6992
christophersmith@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., University of Nebraska in Omaha, 2009

Technical Writing, First-Year Writing, Creative Writing (Fiction & Nonfiction), Screenwriting, Online Education, Film Studies & Production, Animation, YA & MG Literature, Graphic Novels, Video Games in Academia

Dr. Spencer Silverthorne
Visiting Instructor
Newton 2224
912-478-7749

ssilverthorne@georgiasouthern.edu

Jessica Spearman
Lecturer
Newton 1119D
912-478-7328
jspearman@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2014

First-Year Writing, Creative Writing (Nonfiction & Poetry), Writing about Social Issues (Social Responsibility & Social Justice), Philosophical Writing (Empiricism, Existentialism, Feminist Philosophy & Transcendentalism), Writing about Self Identity

Dr. Terry Thompson
Assistant Professor
Newton 2225C
912-478-7079
twthom@georgiasouthern.edu

Ed.D., University of Northern Colorado, 1985

American & British Literature

Dr. Caren Town
Professor
3304D Newton Building
912-478-5803
cartow@georgiasouthern.edu

19th- and 20th-Century American Literature; Young Adult Fiction; Critical Theory

Laura Valeri
Professor
Newton 1119E
912-478-5889
lvaleri@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., University of Iowa, 2002
M.F.A., Florida International University, 2000

Fiction, Screenwriting, Creative Writing, Nonfiction and Memoir, Creativity, Mythology, Comparative Religion, Teaching Online, Teaching Technology

Dr. Mary A. Villeponteaux
Professor
3302A Newton Building
912-478-5905
mvilleponteaux@georgiasouthern.edu

English Renaissance Literature; Shakespeare

Dr. Joyce White
Assistant Professor
3302B Newton Building
912-478-0455
joycewhite@georgiasouthern.edu

Gullah Geechee Literature & Cultures

LeighAnn Williams
Senior Lecturer
Newton 1124B
912-478-1866
lawilliams@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 1995

Creative Nonfiction, National Writing Project, First-Year Experience, Narratives, Multigenre/Multimodal Writing, LILAC Project (Learning Information Literacy Across the Curriculum)

Main Office: 912-344-2594
Location: 103 Gamble Hall

Academic Advisors

Sharon Hathaway
Academic Advisor

912-344-2570
shathaway@georgiasouthern.edu

Faculty

Dr. William Belford
Senior Lecturer
Gamble Hall 233
912-344-3256
wbelford@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Florida State University

Creative Writing, British and American Literature, Composition

Renee Berry
Lecturer
Interim Director, Armstrong Campus Writing Center
Lane Library 133A
912-344-3142
rberry@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Binghamton University

Composition and Rhetoric, Literature, Basic Writing/Reading, Children’s and YA Literature, Fantasy and Science Fiction, Public Speaking, Mark Twain

Christopher Cartright

Senior Lecturer
Gamble Hall 208
912-344-2597
ccartright@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Florida State University, 2012

Composition, Gender Studies, Creative Writing, Literature, Information Literacy, Popular Media, Global Studies

Bill Dawers

Senior Lecturer
Gamble Hall 132
912-344-2594
wdawers@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Washington University

Composition, Sophomore Literature, Media Ethics

Dr. Lisa Dusenberry
Associate Professor
Gamble Hall 141
912-344-2733
ldusenberry@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Florida, 2013

Technical & Professional Communication Pedagogy, Collaboration, Design Thinking, Coding & Game Design, Digital Tools & Writing Pedagogy, Multimodal Communication, Children’s Digital Culture

Dr. Hans-Georg Erney
Professor
Gamble Hall 136
912-344-2696
herney@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Emory University

Postcolonialism, Ecocriticism, South Asian Literature, Twentieth-Century British Literature

Dr. Carol Jamison
Professor
Gamble Hall 238
912-344-3097
cjamison@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Georgia

Chaucer, Early English Literature, History of the English Language, Advanced Grammar, Arthurian Literature

Dr. Amanda Konkle
Associate Professor
Gamble Hall 131
912-344-2625
akonkle@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Kentucky

Film Studies, Cultural Studies, American Literature, Gender and Women’s Studies

Dr. Annie Mendenhall
Associate Professor
Gamble Hall 235
912-344-3603
amendenhall@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Ohio State University

Rhetoric, Writing, Composition Theory and Pedagogy, Archival Research

Dr. Tony Morris
Professor
Gamble Hall 204
912-344-3123
tmorris@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Florida State University

Creative Writing, Literature

Christy Mroczek
Principal Lecturer
Gamble Hall 133
912-344-2718
cmroczek@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Clemson University

Technical Writing, Publication Design, Writing for Non-profit Organizations

Dr. Kendra R. Parker
Associate Professor
Gamble Hall 236 | Newton 3301-D
912-344-2621
kparker@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Howard University

African American Literature, Gender and Women’s Studies, Africana Studies

Dr. Jane Rago
Associate Professor
Director, Gender and Women’s Studies
Gamble Hall 237
912-344-2937
jrago@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., West Virginia University

First-Year Experience, Composition, 19th-Century British Literature

Dr. James Smith
Professor
Editor, Southern Poetry Review
Gamble Hall 232
912-344-3196
jmsmith@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Creative Writing, American Literature

Dr. Robert Terry
Associate Professor
Gamble Hall 239
912-344-3606
rterry@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Louisville

Professional Communication, Creative Writing, Gender Studies, Game Studies, American Literature

 Dr. Hapsatou Wane
Assistant Professor
Gamble Hall 142
912-344-3342
hwane@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Comparative World literature, Africa and the Diaspora literature, French and francophone literature, Gender and Women’s Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Autobiography Studies

Dr. Marcus Mitchell
Senior Lecturer
Liberty Center 117
912-877-1910
mmitchell@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University

Victorian Literature and Culture, First-Year Writing, Technical and Professional Communication, Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Susan Thompson
Part-Time Faculty
Liberty Center 227
912-877-1906
sthompson@georgiasouthern.edu

Last updated: 2/8/2024